Cruising along nicely…

What a week it was! Lots going on in my life, some great, some not so great. All of these are unrelated to my sleeve. However as my hubby so wisely pointed out, in the midst of a whole shitstorm when I was handling it better than expected, my current state of physical and mental health have certainly helped me to take it all in my stride. I agree. With what I have had to put up with (I won’t go into it) I probably would have fallen in a giant heap if not for feeling so damn good.

I went to see my doctor last Tuesday for my post-op checkup and he was happy with my progress and on his scales I had lost just over 5 kilos since surgery. As of this morning I weigh 87.8 which means an overall loss of 6.3 kilos, in not even 3 weeks. I am stoked. I haven’t started exercising yet, but I will shortly. I also realised that for the first time in years I am pain free. Let me say that again PAIN FREE! I have had horrendous joint, foot, knee and hip pain forever and some days I could barely walk by days end, but not any more. Not sure if it is because of the weight loss, the lack of sugar, crap and gluten or what, but I am loving it. I am ready to start exercising regularly now.

I moved from liquids to pureed food last Tuesday and I have to admit it was nice to actually eat again. I have been typically having a scrambled egg for breakfast, some soup for lunch and pureed chicken with mashed potato for dinner. I have had some other yummy things in between, but that is pretty much my staple. Tonight I am going to have some lasagne. I know my protein intake is too low, so I need to focus on that next.

In terms of hunger, I definitely feel it, real growling hunger sometimes in fact, but it seems to be easily satisfied. One big change that has happened is that it appears that I can’t tolerate lactose. I am not a big milk drinker anyway, but yoghurt and certain soups just don’t want to stay around for long and move quickly through me. I wouldn’t mind too much, but I was looking forward to some cheese in the future, I will just see what happens.

Not much else to report today. Just to say that I am so very happy right now and am looking forward excitedly to what the future holds.

6 thoughts on “Cruising along nicely…

      1. I hope it was a good kind of bumpy! I have to say I am so happy (and a wee envious) of your coming 4 months in Bali! Wish I could come to your women’s retreat myself!

        Like

Leave a comment